Six On Saturday: Fresh eyes give renewed determination

There is nothing like visiting the garden of a friend or relative for giving fresh impetus to your own garden.  After spending time last Sunday dispensing words of wisdom: ‘that  achemillia mollis can be cut back now’, ‘don’t let that lemon balm seed everywhere’ and  ‘that’s a weed and this is a tree seedling’, I came back to my garden and spotted a large clump of achemillia mollis seeding itself everywhere, nettles quietly gaining strength under the shade of the geraniums and grass creeping into the borders. It was time for a midsummer clear up.  A frantic spurt of dead heading and weeding ensued and there was that alchemilla mollis to deal with.

One

IMG_2758

The offending alchemilla mollis.  I wasn’t in a ruthless enough mood to start with so I just cut back the flowering stems.  The fresh new growth began to emerge from the shadows and I realised that if I had done this earlier and by ruthlessly cutting back the old growth by the handful those new shoots would have been taking centre stage earlier.  I know this but I rarely do it early enough!

Two

IMG_2756

Down at the allotment end of the garden I noticed that the autumn raspberries were ripening.  The plants came as runners from my old allotment raspberries and this is their first fruiting year.  I’m so glad they survived the low rainfall which I’m sure owes much to their shady position.

Three

IMG_2754

My clematis have all gone to seed now but I spotted one last flower valiantly soldiering on, thereby earning the right to be included in this six.

Four

IMG_2760

Also on the clear up list was the rambling rose I chose to train up the back fence. It is ‘Wedding Day’.  A mad choice I confess but I planned to train it into my neighbour’s trees.  ‘Wedding Day’ is rampant and I didn’t keep it under control the first year.  This week I took it hand and tied it in as best I could, rose scratched arms is not a good look! Half way through the job I consulted my RHS book of pruning which tells me that ramblers come in three groups and the pruning is slightly different for each group.  Now I just have to find out which group ‘Wedding Day’ falls into.

Five

IMG_2663

Since I have mentioned my neighbour’s trees, it is only fair that I show one or two.  This majestic willow catches the evening sun and is spectacular.

Six

IMG_2759.JPG

I also benefit from another neighbour’s elder tree.  The berries are ripe now and some may find their way into fruit pie.  The colour combination of stem, leaf and fruit is just sumptuous.

Sharing gardening experiences is a great part of #SixOnSaturday and an important part of gardening.  I hope my ‘advice’ was well received but I will also share by potting up some of the seedlings I discovered in my clear up.  There are a good number of astrantia major, hollyhocks and verbena bonariensia for a start.  And I thank my neighbours for sharing their trees and giving me a fabulous frame for my garden.

For the links to other sixes pay a visit to The Propagator the hard working host of this meme.  Now time to get back to that clean up!

 

28 thoughts on “Six On Saturday: Fresh eyes give renewed determination

  1. I love the photo of the agapanthus against the sun drenched willow leaves with the blue sky behind…so summery. I also like the idea of SoS being about sharing gardening experiences.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m laughing about there being different types of rambling roses. Same is true for clematis and I can never remember what I have. My goal now is to only plant the kind that need to be cut back in the spring. Then I can do all of them at the same time. Unfortunately I have several where I don’t have a clue when to prune.

    Liked by 4 people

    • It was indeed a great evening, the sun comes across the garden from the west and it was catching the top of the tree giving it that lovely golden colour. I’m hoping to make some jam but my record is a bit hit and miss!!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I wish I could get alchemilla mollis to grow as well here in Indiana as it does in England. I didn’t move any to my home gardens when I sold the farm, but now I miss it. I especially loved the miniature ones in the Fairy Garden, but they were tricky to keep going.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That’s some tasty looking raspberries you’ve got growing. You’re lucky with the shaded area – mine’s all open with no shade at all, so they got through an incredible number of watering trips to the water trough.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. “I planned to train it into my neighbour’s trees” had me sputtering a bit. You must get on with your neighbours extremely well or extremely badly. Is that laurel hanging over from their side? Could well be badly.

    Liked by 2 people

    • The laurel is from their side. They had it all cut back about a year ago and of course it has surged! I hope we get on well enough – doesn’t every one love a rose growing through a tree!?! Time will tell 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh, do you know what sort of elderberry that it? I suppose it does not matter. Those in North America are considered by some to be the same as those in Europe. We lack those here. However, we have our own native blue elderberry.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Ours is Sambucus cerulea or Sambucus mexicana. No one can really decide. I prefer to the former to the latter. Sambucus nigra is not available here, although there are some ornamental cultivars of it. Is there a difference between Sambucus nigra and Sambucus canadensis? I would guess that the two names describe the same species in the east like our western specie has two names.

        Liked by 1 person

  7. I have been doing a bit of a tidy up myself this weekend. A lot of spent flower stems lopped off, including our friend alchemilla mollis. It was well overdue, along with a bit of weeding and edging. Now the garden looks more presentable,if not yet fully recovered from the hot dry spell.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Well, how ignorant can a person like me be? Fairly, it would seem. I didn’t know you could eat elderberries. I knew cordial was made from the flowers & assumed everything else was as well. Sometimes my brain just doesn’t travel down the normal road to a sensible conclusion. So your original premise is right – fresh eyes welcomed here. A lovely Six, btw.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment